Indie Authors and Amazon Hachette Deal


Indie Authors and Amazon Hachette Deal

Amazon Hachette Deal Resolved Amazon And Hachette have finally resolved their difference with both reporting they are happy with the new deal but neither is telling us at the moment the contents of their agreement, so how will this affect indie authors.
David Naggar, a vice president of Amazon's Kindle division, said in a statement "We are pleased with this new agreement as it includes specific financial incentives for Hachette to deliver lower prices, which we believe will be a great win for readers and authors alike," which means Hachette will sell for less but not lose out as much as it expected to.

Which is great for them and their authors and with other publishers now expected to make new deals with Amazon we can expect more of the same. It looks like readers will be able to get new e-books cheaper in the New Year from the major publishing houses which I am sure they will love just as much as the rest of us.

In recent months A lot of the Major Publishers have been revamping their websites not because of this argument but in an attempt to become a little less dependant on others maybe. For example Penguin Random House recently launched a social network site for readers, allowing people to showcase their favourite books and buy them from independent stores.
HarperCollins has revamped its US website, making it easier for fans of Agatha Christie, David Walliams and their other authors to buy their titles direct from the publisher.
Some smaller publishers have already moved into direct sales cutting out the 60% cut Amazon received on the list price, money that can instead be spent on advertising and promotion.

The Book World is changing that's for sure, we can expect more new or revamped Publisher Websites from all the major players as well as all the smaller publishing houses in the coming year, none have actually said this is to take on Amazon but just maybe its to help protect them from Amazon.

So where does this leave the Independent Author, well they are tied to Amazon, Barns and Noble and the other e-book retailers and if prices of big publisher books start coming down towards Amazon's target of $9.99 or less, they are going to find it even more competitive at their end of the market.
They also don't have the means to spend on advertising nor create lavish websites to showcase their books. So will it mean the end of the line for many struggling authors, who are already selling their hard work and dedication at the low prices needed to attract new readers or will the market still have room for them and their works of affection. The Guardian Newspaper has a great article worth reading Amazon and Hachette feud could rewrite the book on publishing it doesn't go into the independent author angle but it is very interesting.
Please leave a comment about this article below.

ReadersGazette.Com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.

Newsletter

© Copyright 2015 ReadersGazette.Com and on behalf of their authors, all rights reserved.

Scroll Down To Leave A Comment.

Written by Readers Gazette

Visit RG Member 251
Below you can TWEET or SHARE this Article.
click the book image to see more about the book.

Amazon And Hachette have finally resolved their difference but neither is telling us at the moment the contents of their agreement. David Naggar, said in a statement "We are pleased with this new agreement as it includes...

Micro by Michael Crichton

An instant classic in the vein of Jurassic Park, this boundarypushing novel has all the hallmarks of Michael Crichton’s greatest adventures with its combination of pulsepounding thrills, cuttingedge technology, and extraordinary research
Three men are found dead in a locked secondfloor office in Honolulu. There is no sign of struggle, though their bodies are covered in ultrafine, razorsharp cuts. With no evidence, the police dismiss it as a bizarre suicide pact. But the murder weapon is...



Please Leave A Comment


ReadersGazette.Com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.

Amazon USA

Amazon.com - Read eBooks using the FREE Kindle Reading App on Most Devices

Join Amazon Prime - Watch Over 40,000 Movies & TV Shows Anytime - Start Free Trial Now

Shop Amazon - Contract Cell Phones & Service Plans

Join Amazon Student FREE Two-Day Shipping for College Students

Shop Amazon - Give the Gift of Amazon Prime

Amazon UK

Amazon UK Deals in Electronics and PC

Amazon Prime UK 30-day Free Trial

Amazon Prime Video UK 30-day Free Trial

Amazon Prime Music UK 30-day Free Trial

Audible UK 30-day Free Trial



Kindle Unlimited

Fast, FREE shipping and more. Prime members also enjoy exclusive access to movies and TV shows, music, unlimited photo storage and Kindle books.
Try USA Prime for FREE
Try UK Prime for FREE

Audible

Immerse yourself in inspiring voices by master storytellers who bring books to life, illuminating characters and taking you deep inside the story.
Try USA Audible for FREE
Try UK Audible for FREE

ALL THE ARTICLES

Click the image to view



Who Will Be The Next Doctor Who?

Phoebe Waller-Bridge has apparantly tweeted that it will not be her to be the new Doctor Who but according to Ladbrokes she is still favourite. Yes really the Brits are gambling on who will become... continue reading click image.



Smooth Operator

Every set of “travel misadventure” stories has at least one “ladyboy” experience, we’ve all seen them regurgitated a thousand times and it all comes down to “got this gorgeous girl back... continue reading click image.



The Magic of Spirit

Go back to that time in your life when you have seen a magician, a film about magic or read a book and never forgotten that magical moment, lost in the world of the unknown, fantasy and magic it... continue reading click image.



Why a spirit of adventure can help you to become a memoir writer

Memoirs have become an incredibly popular genre of book in recent years. I don’t know when it started, but for me, the first memoir I read, which was Peter Mayle’s A Year in Provence got me... continue reading click image.



6 lessons about the business of being an author

In 2014 I independently published my first book through Amazon’s Createspace and KDP. The process taught me a lot about writing, publishing, marketing and mainly myself. Recently, I was asked to... continue reading click image.



The Social Author

So you have written your novels and they sit waiting to be grabbed off of Amazon or one of the other Internet Book Stores and there they sit waiting and waiting. The problem with Amazon or anywhere... continue reading click image.



How to brand yourself as a writer?

A writer has to analyze his write ups and the subjects he is passionate to write about. He has to ponder over the kind of stories he likes to tell, narrate or serve to his readers. Eventually, that... continue reading click image.


Pages:  1 2 3 L




Try Video

Enjoy unlimited streaming of movies and TV shows. Anywhere, anytime.
Try USA Video for FREE
Try UK Video for FREE

Reading App

Read Everywhere with the Free Kindle Reading Apps.
USA FREE Kindle Reading App
UK FREE Kindle Reading App